New
Find
Notify
Tools

Suit to stop the I66 Spot Improvement (Widening) Project
 Login/Join 
posted
All,
I just received this note from the Arlington Green Party asking that Arlington Civic Associations join in a suit against widening I66. I personally support the suit; I think that increased investment in highways begets the need for more highways. Anyway, I forward the note for discussion within NRCA.
Mark Antell

----------------------------------------

Dear Arlington Civic Association Members:

My name is Audrey Clement. I’m a resident of Arlington and Co-Chair of the Green Party of Virginia. I recently filed suit to stop the I-66 Spot Improvement Project, and I would like the members of your civic association to sign on too. Not only will this de facto road widening project not eliminate congestion on I-66, it violates the 1977 Coleman Decision, which limited the width of I-66 to two lanes in either direction.

The Coleman Decision itself resulted from a ruling issued by the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals in 1972 that ended years of heated controversy over the design of the interstate. In addition to limiting the size of the roadway, it also called for HOV restrictions, a hiker/biker trail, and construction of the Orange line in the median. VDOT claims that the Coleman Decision was annulled by a rider to the FY2000 DOT Transportation Appropriation. Now I’ve read that rider, and all it says is that VDOT has exclusive control over I-66 consistent with other federal and state law. Nowhere does it give VDOT permission to widen the road.